just Sew Stories

Adventures in Sewing

Makeup Pouch

Medium Makeup PouchMedium Makeup Pouch open

May 2014

Pattern: I made the medium pouch (9″ x 6″) from a pattern I found on sew4home’s website. Here’s the link: http://www.sew4home.com/projects/storage-solutions/weekend-wonders-fabriccom-zippered-pouches-three-sizes

Top Section Fabric: Retro Dot cotton (1/4 yd) from Hobby Lobby. Since I’m making a set of coordinated bags, I was able to use leftover fabric.

Bottom Section Fabric: Black Lattice cotton (1/4 yd) from Hobby Lobby. Again, I used leftover fabric.

Lining: white PUL (polyurethane laminate) (1/4 yd) from JoAnn’s – you can find this with all the baby craft items.

Trim: Jumbo rick rack in pink (1 package) – you only really need about 21-22″ of rick rack, so if you have some leftovers in the right color, you don’t have to buy a package of rick rack.

Notions: 9″ zipper in Dark Rose

Makeup Bag suppliesSummary:  My daughter is very active in theatre and the last time she was in a show, I noticed she needs to take a lot of stuff to each show (several pairs of shoes, make up, hair products, curling iron, foundation garments, clothes to wear after the show, her script, etc.).  I saw that she was trying to cram all of this in a bag that was way too small, so she ended up taking a stuffed bag, some things on hangars – generally, an awkward mess.  I thought – wait a minute!  All she needs is a bigger bag with smaller bags for all the little things inside and she’d be set.  Wouldn’t it be cute if all the bags were coordinated?  I mentioned the idea to my daughter and got a big thumbs up!  My daughter chose the bag styles and fabrics and I will assemble them.  This is the first of what I’ll call the Drama Bag set – a mid-sized makeup pouch.  The lining is made from PUL (a laminated material also used for diaper covers) that is easy to wipe out if the pouch gets messy with makeup spills.

Makeup Pouch Exterior Panels

Note 1: The instructions and photos were very clear and easy to follow with one exception: In step 2 of Exterior bag panels, it states to “position the rick rack so the top ‘waves’ are 1/4″ from the raw edge of the fabric.”  Since the rick rack is 5/8″ wide, that statement did not make sense to me.  I positioned the rick rack so the bottom “waves” were 1/4″ from the raw edge of the bottom of the fabric.  You can see that in the photo on the left, once the bottom fabric was sewn on, you can the top half of waves peeking out.

Fabric Notes: Since pins will leave holes in the PUL, I used Clover Wonder Clips to hold the fabric pieces together.  If you do use pins, be sure to keep them within the seam allowances.

Final Thoughts: It was a quick and easy pattern for me to put together and lots of fun for my daughter to design. I like that it’s washable, too!

One comment on “Makeup Pouch

  1. Pingback: Square Makeup Bag | just Sew Stories

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2014 by in Accessories, ~ Cosmetic Bags and tagged .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

