just Sew Stories

Adventures in Sewing

Pink Lace Skater Skirt – Pattern Drafting

My daughter is love with the short skater-type skirts that are all the rage now.  I offered to make her one just the way she likes.  (Also, a tad longer than what we see in the stores!)  So I’ve been on a search for a pattern for a skater skirt.  Most skater skirt patterns seem to be full circle skirts with an elastic waist.  This was not what my daughter tried on in local stores, so I kept looking.

I found Simplicity pattern 2314 that was somewhat close but it had a fitted waist with a side zipper.  My daughter liked the idea of a zipper at the waist to get a better fit at the waist and still be able to get it over her hips.  But the skirt shape wasn’t quite right – it was just an A-line skirt – not full enough.  Then I stumbled across this vintage 1973 McCall’s 3580 pattern.  The skirt shape was perfect although it had an elastic waist.  Believe it or not, I found this vintage pattern on ebay and bought it in a heartbeat.  Now all I had to do was draft my own pattern with the waistband and zipper from the Simplicity pattern with the skirt shape of the vintage pattern.  Here are the two patterns:

2314S    3580M-73

I use Pellon Easy Pattern to draft my new pattern pieces.  I started by drawing in the waist from the Simplicity pattern.  Then I marked where I wanted the longer hemline to be (only 1/2″ longer!).

WaistLength

Then I placed the vintage pattern piece underneath my “new” pattern and marked the sides.  Once the sides were drawn, I slid my “new” pattern down to draw the hemline curve.

SideHem

Here’s the “new”pattern piece for the back.  I did the same thing for the front pattern piece.  Now I’m all set to cut!

New Draft

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2013 by in Apparel, ~ Skirts and tagged , .

Top Posts & Pages

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other subscribers